SMU British Parliamentary-Inter Varsities 2011

We set out below an announcement from SMU's Debating Society for your information:

SMU's Debating Society (SMUDS) is delighted to announce that SMU BP-IVs will be held from the 14th to 16th of October, 2011. The tournament promises to be one of the most competitive tournaments in the run up to the World Universities Debating Championship. The format follows the British Parliamentary format, where teams of two speak for 7 minutes each.

Having hosted two tournaments earlier this year, SMU Debating Society is set to deliver a great tournament yet again with an extremely competent adjudication core. The Chief Adjudicator is SMU's very own accomplished alumni, Mr. Shrawan Saraogi; we also have Mr. Satya Venugopal, 2009 Asia's best speaker, as well as Mr. Mark Cordiner and Ms. Nishita Vasan as our Deputy Chief Adjudicators.


Date: 14th to 16th October, 2011

Venue: Singapore Management University

Team Cap: 100 teams

Adj Rule: N-1

Registration Fee: SGD 35/person (Early Bird); SGD 40/person (Payment at Venue)

Register teams here

Provide Participant Details here by 12th October, 2011

Wire money to Bank account (Early Bird Special) by: 9th October, 2011

Do visit our Facebook page (search SMU BP IV 2011) or contact us at if you have any queries!

Look forward to seeing you at the SMU BPIVs 2011 =)


Debate Luminary Series 2011: Registration Open!

The Debate Association is pleased to announce that registration for the Debate Luminary
Series 2011 is now open!

The Debate Luminary Series is an 8 week program where ex-World Schools debaters will
be invited to speak with you on various topics related to debating. Each week feature a
different topic


ICR Debating Championship Prelim Round 2

The second preliminary round of the "I Can Read" Debating Championship will be held this Saturday, 24 September, at ?Bishan Community Club, from 7.30-9.30pm. Do drop by to check out the action!

Co-organized by Total Literacy International and Debate Association (Singapore), the


I Can Read National Debate Championship 2011

Total Literacy International and Debate Association (Singapore) will once again be organizing the "I Can Read" Debating Championship. The tournament was launched in 2010 and was a big success.

The championship is a Primary School debate competition which uses the Wits & Words debate format, which is a scaled down version of the format used at the Singapore Secondary School Debating Championships (SSDC).

The purpose of the competition is to give the opportunity and exposure for primary school students, to discover new ways of learning through debate. It will also be a platform for these young learners to acquire critical skills in communication and public speaking. The competition will witness participating teams from the learning centers of Total Literacy International battle their way through till a champion emerges.

The competition schedule is as follows:
28 August: Preliminary Round 1
24 September: Preliminary Round 2
15 October: Preliminary Round 3
29 October: Preliminary Round 4
5 November: Semi-Finals
12 November: Grand Final & 3rd & 4th placing

If you are interested in watching the next generation of Singaporean debaters make their first foray into the dynamic and competitive world of debating, do feel free to swing by! Preliminary Round 1 will be held this Sunday at Bishan Community Club at 7.30pm. The venues, dates and times of the subsequent rounds will be made available on our website once they have been confirmed.


Singapore are World Champions!

Singapore have won the World Schools Debating Championships 2011 in Dundee after defeating Australia in a 7-2 decision in the Grand Final.

They dominated the individual speaker tab too. Team captain Teoh Ren Jie was ranked the Best Speaker of the Tournament. Benjamin Mak was ranked the no. 2 individual speaker, and Ashish Kumar was ranked the no. 4 speaker. (Australia's Tyrone Connell was ranked 3rd, and England's Matthew Handley 5th.) It was quite a performance from a team which ranked only 15th in the preliminary rounds with 5 wins out of 8, but which won those 5 debates sufficiently impressively to propelled their speakers to 3 of the top 4 positions on the speaker tab. In the octo-finals, they edged past New Zealand in a 3-2 split decision. And after that they really hit their stride with a series of very impressive performances to beat Canada 5-0 in the quarter-finals, Ireland 5-2 in the semi-finals, Australia 7-2 in the Grand Final.

Congratulations to the team: Teoh Ren Jie (Captain), Adil Hakeem, Ashish Kumar, Benjamin Mak Jia Ming, and Ng Li Ki. And congratulations also to the coach: Geetha Creffield!

So, 16 years after first entering the World Schools Debating Championships in 1995, Singapore has become the first Asian nation to win the championship. This is indeed a very proud moment for Singapore debating.

[Extracted from an email from Mark Gabriel]


Debate Association (Singapore) Annual General Meeting

Dear members of Debate Association (Singapore),

The Debate Association (Singapore) will be holding its Annual General
Meeting on Sunday, 24th July 2011 at 2pm. Members of DA(S) are invited to attend this meeting.

The AGM will vote on the candidates to replace the retiring executive
committee members, and discuss our plans for the coming year. Only
registered adult members (over the age of 18) will be allowed to vote.

The AGM will be held at:

The Clubhouse (Function Room)
10 Braddell Hill
Singapore 579719

Please email with your DA(S) membership number
and name if you would like to attend the AGM. Due to space restrictions at the meeting venue, we would appreciate if you could inform us by 20th July 2011 if you will be attending this AGM, so that we can plan accordingly. Nil replies are not required.

We look forward to seeing you there!

+ View all updates

Contact Info

Debate Association (Singapore)