• Your server has Suhosin loaded. Please follow this tutorial.
  • Koowa wasn't found. Please install the Koowa plugin and enable it.

Results for SRC-DA(S) International Humanitarian Law Debate Championships 2015

Written by DA(S) Admin on .

The Singapore Red Cross - Debate Association (Singapore) International Humanitarian Law Debate Championships is the only tournament of its kind in Singapore, bringing teams together to debate on matters concerning global peace, conflict resolution and international humanitarian obligations. This year’s edition was its largest yet, with nearly forty teams participating across both the Senior and Junior divisions. The Championship was kindly hosted by Anglo-Chinese Junior College and the Singapore Red Cross over the past two weeks.

By a unanimous 7 - 0 decision, Raffles Institution triumph over Victoria Junior College to emerge as the champions for the Senior Division. At the Junior Division, Hwa Chong Institution beat Raffles Institution by a 4 - 1 decision to clinch the championship. Congratulations to both teams!

Click "Continue Reading" for more results, including the individual speaker rankings    

Senior Division:

- Champion Team on a 7-0 split: Raffles Institution

- 1st Runners-Up: Victoria Junior College

- Semi-Finalists: Hwa Chong Institution, United World College of South East Asia

Top 20 Senior Speakers:

20th: Chan E Hueen, Temasek Polytechnic

19th: Sarish Mohar, Temasek Polytechnic

18th: Edmond Oh, Temasek Junior College

17th: Darren Woo, Temasek Polytechnic

16th: Wang Shang Yew, Dunman High School

15th: Natalie Yeo, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)

14th: Liu Enning, Temasek Polytechnic

13th: Teo Kai Xiang, Singapore Polytechnic

12th: Axl Chua, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)

11th: Kevin Tang, Anglo-Chinese Junior College

10th: Amanda Tan, Dunman High School

9th: Christina Thomas, Anglo-Chinese Junior College

8th: Rishabh Tagore, United World College of South East Asia

7th: Ajay Nair, Victoria Junior College

6th: John George Varughese, Anglo-Chinese Junior College

5th: Goh Han Yang, Hwa Chong Institution

Tied 3rd: Cheang Ko Lyn, Raffles Institution

Tied 3rd: Hari Kope, Raffles Institution

2nd: Lin Mingxuan, Victoria Junior College

Top Senior Speaker: Seah Pei Song, Victoria Junior College


Junior Division:

- Champion Team on a 4-1 split: Hwa Chong Institution

- 1st Runners-Up: Raffles Institution

- Semi-Finalists: Catholic High School, Nanyang Girls’ High School

Top 20 Junior Speakers:

20th: Melvin Seto, St. Gabriel's Secondary School / Debate Development Initiative

19th: Christopher Gan, Anglo-Chinese School (Barker Road)

18th: Dhruv Uppal, Anglo-Chinese School (International)

17th: Hansel Chua, Anglo-Chinese School (Barker Road)

16th: Jay Parmar, St. Joseph's Institution

Tied 14th: Claudia Anne Binny, CHIJ St. Theresa’s Convent

Tied 14th: Elizabeth Lian, Paya Lebar Methodist Girls’ School

13th: Ivan Toh, Raffles Institution

12th: Thirrisha Murugan, NUS High School of Mathematics & Science

Tied 10th: Gabriel See, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)

Tied 10th: Pulkit Athavle, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)

9th: Hannah Quek, Paya Lebar Methodist Girls' School

8th: Davene Lye, Cedar Girls’ School

7th: Ryan Wee, Raffles Institution

6th: Christopher Low, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)

Tied 4th: Muhammad Dhafer B M F K S , Raffles Institution

Tied 4th: Milton Wong, Hwa Chong Institution

3rd: Shaun Lee, Hwa Chong Institution

2nd: Au Wei Hoe, Hwa Chong Institution

Top Junior Speaker: Andrew Mark Snodgrass, St. Joseph’s Institution 

Contact Info

Debate Association (Singapore)