• Your server has Suhosin loaded. Please follow this tutorial.
  • Koowa wasn't found. Please install the Koowa plugin and enable it.

SJI International's Beurel Debate Open 2014

Written by DA(S) Admin on .

On 17-19 January, St. Joseph's Institution International held the Jean-Marie Beurel Debate Open.
The Asians tournament attracted 48 teams at the secondary schools level, including schools from the region. WSDC Singapore and Catholic High School emerged Champions of the Open and Junior Break respectively, while Dunman High School's Chey Yew Hwei and Hwa Chong Institution (High School)'s Gabriel Tan emerged respective Top Speakers of the Open and Junior tab.
[Note: Debate Association (Singapore) was not affiliated with this tournament]

Click "Continue Reading" for more information.

The following results are from St. Joseph's Institution International

Top Ten Junior Speakers of Tournament:

10th: Goh Han Yang, Catholic High School
9th: Renz Reyes, Ateneo de Manila High School (Philippines)
=6th: Manuel Ng, Ateneo de Manila High School (Philippines)
=6th: Adrian Padilla, Ateneo de Manila High School (Philippines)
=6th: Song Mingwei, Hwa Chong Institution (High School)
=3rd: Alex Cheong, Hwa Chong Institution (High School)
=3rd: Kok Jun Yi, Hwa Chong Institution (High School)
=3rd: Timothy Ethan Lee, Hwa Chong Institution (High School)
2nd: Bryan Yan, Hwa Chong Institution (High School)
1st: Gabriel Tan, Hwa Chong Institution (High School)

Top Ten Senior Speakers of Tournament:

=8th: Abigail Wong, Anglo-Chinese Junior College
=8th: Sharon Li, Dunman High School
=8th: Elvis Zhang, Hwa Chong Institution (College)
=8th: Joshua Fung, St. Joseph's Institution International
=8th: Joel Nee, WSDC Singapore
=5th: Low Eening, Anglo-Chinese Junior College
=5th: Gerald Choa, Hwa Chong Institution (College)
=5th: Seah Ying Ying, Hwa Chong Institution (College)
4th: Teo En Qi, Dunman High School
3rd: Clarence Cheong, Hwa Chong Institution (College)
2nd: Aloysius Chan, Anglo-Chinese Junior College
1st: Chey Yew Hwei, Dunman High School

Junior Break Quarterfinalists:
- Gravity Falls (Hwa Chong Institution)
- Audacit et Effectus (St. Joseph's Institution International)
- Raffles Institution B
- Raffles Girls' Secondary School A
Junior Break Semifinalists:
- Methodist Girls' School A
- Singapore Chinese Girls' School A
Junior Break Finals:
- Catholic High School defeated Hwa Chong Institution C on a 4-1 split
- Best Speaker: Opposition Whip, Jerrold Lam (Catholic High School)


Open Break Quarterfinalists:
- HCI Cheong Arh (Hwa Chong Institution)
- Anglo-Chinese Junior College A
- Raffles Institution A
- Nanyang Girls' High School A


Open Break Semifinalists:
- Debate Development Initiative A
- Singapore American School
Open Break Finals:
- WSDC Singapore defeated Ateneo de Manila High School on a 4-3 split

- Best Speaker: Deputy Prime Minister, Adrian Padilla (Ateneo de Manila High School)

Contact Info

Debate Association (Singapore)