• Your server has Suhosin loaded. Please follow this tutorial.

Speak! Ventures Debate Championships 2014 Results

Written by DA(S) Admin on .

Over the weekend of 25-26 January 2014, 32 teams from across all three Divisions of the Secondary School debate circuit participated in the inaugural Speak! Ventures Debate Championships (SVDC) 2014.

Jointly organised by Speak! Ventures and Debate Association (Singapore), the SVDC was a great opportunity for school teams to hone their abilities in the run-up to the national championships. In particular, teams benefited from a strong line-up of adjudicators, led by Mr. Mark Gabriel - Chief Adjudicator of the National Championships, Team Singapore co-coaches Mr. Darion Hotan and Mr. Tan Teck Wei, as well as Mr. Eric Jude Tan and Ms. Cherylyn Wee of Debate Association (Singapore).

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Health & Ministry of Transport, Dr. Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim also graced the Gold Finals.

After 5 hotly contested rounds, Xinmin Secondary School A and Hwa Chong Institution A emerged Champion Teams of the Silver and Gold Divisions respectively. The Top Speakers of the Silver and Gold Divisions were Lin Mingxuan (Maris Stella High School) and Cheang Ko Lyn (Singapore Chinese Girls’ School) respectively.

Last but not least, SVDC would not have been possible without the kind support of Pioneer Junior College’s Debate Society, as well as all volunteer judges.

Note: Speak! Ventures is a professional development consultancy firm specializing in public speaking and communications training for individuals of all ages.

Click "Continue Reading" for more results: 


Top Silver Division Teams of Tournament:

Semi-Finalists: Anglican High School

Semi-Finalists: Maris Stella High School

Silver 1st Runner-Up: National Junior College (Junior High)

Silver Champion: Xinmin Secondary School A

Top Twenty Silver Division Speakers of Tournament:

20th: Janvi Kalra, Singapore American School B

19th: Soh Kay Boon, Ngee Ann Secondary School

18th: Charles Fuad, Anglo-Chinese School (International)

17th: Joshua Tan, Anderson Secondary School

16th: Poe Nadi Hline, Xinmin Secondary School B

15th: Emmanuel Tooh, Maris Stella High School

14th: Bryan Lim, Maris Stella High School

13th: William Robinson, Australian International School

Tied 11th: Siti A’isyah Mohd Najib, Madrasah Al-Ma’arif Al-Islamiah

Tied 11th: Dhruv Uppal, Anglo-Chinese School (International)

10th: Ha Duy Thanh, Loyang Secondary School

9th: Damien Ang, Xinmin Secondary School A

8th: Salil Mitra, Singapore American School A

7th: Amelia Woodward, Australian International School

6th: Nabilah bte Bahrim, National Junior College (Junior High)

5th: Hilary Thean, National Junior College (Junior High)

4th: Teng Wei Wen, Xinmin Secondary School A

3rd: Ching Ming Yang, Xinmin Secondary School A

2nd: Sean Chua, Ngee Ann Secondary School

1st: Lin Mingxuan, Maris Stella High School


Top Gold Division Teams of Tournament:

Semi-Finalists: Catholic High School

Semi-Finalists: Singapore Chinese Girls’ School A

Gold 1st Runner-Up: Nanyang Girls’ High School B

Gold Champion: Hwa Chong Institution A

Top Twenty Gold Division Speakers of Tournament:

Tied 19th: Emily Zhao, Raffles Girls’ Secondary School

Tied 19th: Shaun Lee, Hwa Chong Institution B

Tied 17th: Victoria Lynn Chin, Cedar Girls’ Secondary School

Tied 17th: Magdalene Lam, Cedar Girls’ Secondary School

16th: Goh Qi Shuen, Raffles Girls’ Secondary School

15th: Charmaine Chua, Nanyang Girls’ High School A

Tied 13th: Navneeth Kanagavelu, Raffles Institution

Tied 13th: Caleb Cheng, Catholic High School

12th: Zachary Intrater, United World College of South East Asia

11th: Muhammad Dhafer, Raffles Institution

10th: Tessa Teo, Nanyang Girls’ High School B

9th: Au Wei Hoe, Hwa Chong Institution B

8th: Lau Yi Yi, Cedar Girls’ Secondary School

=6th: Bryan Yan, Hwa Chong Institution A

=6th: Gabriel Tan, Hwa Chong Institution A

5th: Allison Wu, Nanyang Girls’ High School B

4th: Alicia Lim, Nanyang Girls’ High School B

3rd: Sai Simrita Dhamodaran, Debate Development Initiative

2nd: Jerrold Lam, Catholic High School

1st: Cheang Ko Lyn, Singapore Chinese Girls’ School A