• Your server has Suhosin loaded. Please follow this tutorial.
  • Koowa wasn't found. Please install the Koowa plugin and enable it.

Results for Youth Debate Open 2015

Written by DA(S) Admin on .


Co-organised by Debate Association (Singapore) and the Jelutung Youth Executive Committee at Canberra Community Club, the annual Youth Debate Open (YDO) aims to bring secondary school students from a wide range of debating backgrounds together in a friendly competitive environment. This year's edition of the YDO was kindly hosted by Loyang Secondary School and Canberra CC, and was held on 20 June Saturday and 28 June Sunday.

This year, the Debate Development Initiative beat Loyang Secondary School on a 5 - 0 unanimous decision amongst the judge panel to emerge the Champion Gold Division Team for 2015. A composite team from Anglican High School and St. Andrew's Secondary School also beat Xinmin Secondary School Team A on a 4 - 1 split to emerge the Champion Silver Division Team. Congratulations to all winners and participants!

Click "Continue Reading" for more results, including the individual speaker rankings    


Champions (Gold Division):
Debate Development Initiative Team Shiva

Runners-up (Gold Division):
Loyang Secondary School

Semi-Finalists (Gold Division):
Raffles Institution
Singapore American School Team A

Champions (Silver Division):
Anglican High School - St. Andrew's Secondary School Composite Team
Runners-up (Silver Division):
Xinmin Secondary School Team A

Top Individual Speakers (Gold Division):
10. Kenneth Hoh Jia Khai - Catholic High School
9. Ha Duy Thanh - Loyang Secondary School
8. Elizabeth Koh Yuan - CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls' School
7. Natalie Poh Yuxuan - Nanyang Girls' High School
6. Low Eu Hian - Catholic High School
5. Joshua Ooi Wei Jin - Catholic High School
4. Grace Lee Min Hui - CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls' School
3. Anish Welde - United World College of South East Asia (Dover)
2. Nabilah binte Bahrim - National Junior College (Junior High) / Debate Development Initiative
1. Chan Chao Qing - Raffles Institution

Top Individual Speakers (Silver Division):
5. Athena Tan Jiaxin - Xinmin Secondary School 
4. Joshua Lee Jia Le - Xinmin Secondary School
3. Lincoln Lau - Anglican High School
2. Martin Tan Chwee Guan - Xinmin Secondary School
1. Lye Hwee Woon, Hazel - Anderson Secondary School

Best Speaker in the Gold Division Grand Final:
3rd Proposition Speaker, Nabilah binte Bahrim - National Junior College (Junior High) / Debate Development Initiative
Best Speaker in the Silver Division Grand Final:
1st Proposition Speaker, Lincoln Lau - Anglican High School


Contact Info

Debate Association (Singapore)