• Your server has Suhosin loaded. Please follow this tutorial.
  • Koowa wasn't found. Please install the Koowa plugin and enable it.

Wits & Words 2011 Results

Rosyth School

St. Joseph Institution (Junior)

Award Recipient School
Good Speaker Award
  • Christian Yeo
Anglo-Chinese Primary School
  • Aneesh Vinit Wagle
Blangah Rise Primary School
  • Audity Binte Tareq
Greenridge Primary School
  • Ayden Mohan
St Joseph Institution
  • Lydia Ng
Tao Nan School
Best Speaker Award
  • Karisha Tej Kumar Pratabrai
Haig Girls

Youth Debate Open 2011

A message from the organiser of the Youth Debate Open:

Hi all!

The Second Season of Youth Debate Open (YDO) 2011 is back! The YDO 2011, organised by the Youth Executive Committee (YEC) of the Jelutung Community Club @ Canberra, is targeted at only Secondary School debaters. All school teams and independent teams are warmly welcomed! :)

The tournament details are as follows:


Preliminary Round: 18th June (Sat)

Semi Finals and Finals: 25th June (Sat), 2011


Preliminary Round: 9.30am-5.30pm

Semi Finals and Finals: 4pm-7.30pm


Preliminary Round: Anglo-Chinese Junior College

Semi Finals and Finals: The Jelutung Community Club @ Canberra

Debating Format

World's Schools Debating Style (WSDC)

6 minute speeches with POIs

3 minute reply speeches without POIs


18th June: 3 Preliminary Rounds (1st Prepared, 2nd and 3rd Impromptu)

25th June: Semi-finals (Prepared) and Grand Finals (Impromptu)

Motion for Round 1 and Semi-finals will be released via email to theTeam Captains on 11h June and 22nd June respectively


ASEAN Relations

Age Restriction

Secondary School Level

Team Size

Minimum of 3 members, Maximum of 5 members

Reg. Fees

$50 per team. Payment on 18th June 2011

Reg. Deadline

1st June 2011

Do feel free to contact the organiser, Ms Lim Cheng Hui at or 9732 3655 for any clarifications.


June Holidays Debate Camp for Beginners 2011 - UPDATE

Dear all,

Debate Association (Singapore), with the kind support of NUS Law Faculty, will be conducting a 2-day Beginners' Debate Day Camp from 30 May (Monday) to 31 May (Tuesday). The Camp will be held from 9.30am-5pm on Monday and Tuesday. It is a stay-out camp, to be conducted at the National University of Singapore Bukit Timah Campus (469G Bukit Timah Road).

This Beginners' Camp is an annual camp organised by Debate Association (Singapore) and will target Primary 5 - Secondary 2 students who have no or little debating experience.

The camp will be conducted in the form of lectures, workshops and group activities and seeks to introduce the participants to public speaking and the basics of debating.

The cost fee of the camp is $80/- per participant. This will include training materials, lunch and administrative costs. Please sign up for the camp in the form below by 24 May 2011. We will then email you more details by 26 May 2011. Should you not receive any details by then, please email

Do email Jun Yi at should you have any queries or if you are interested in volunteering as a trainer for the camp!

Thank you and we hope to see you at the camp!

If you are unable to view this form, please access the form from the link here.


Results of 2011 SSSDC

Dear all,

The results of the Singapore Secondary Schools Debating Championships DC 2011 (Organised and sponsored by Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning and co-organised by Debate Association (Singapore) for Divisions I, II and III are as follows:

Raffles Institution

National Junior College (Junior High)

Third place:
Raffles Girls' School

Fourth place:
S.J.I. International School

Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)
C.H.I.J. St. Nicholas Girls


SP Debate Open 2011

We bring you an invitation from the Singapore Polytechnic Debating Society to the inaugural SP Debate Open 2011:

The Singapore Polytechnic Debating Society cordially invites you and your team of debaters to the inaugural SP Debate Open 2011(SPDO '11). Happening over the weekend of 11th & 12th June, SPDO '11 is the first of its kind with teams spanning from secondary schools, junior colleges, polytechnics and ITEs. Competing over 4 preliminary rounds before the break to quarter-finals (secondary schools will have a separate break to semis), teams will debate in the three-on-three Asian Parliamentary format. Motions for the 4 preliminary rounds will be released two days before the actual day, while motions for the break rounds will be released an hour before the start of the round.

Why should your institution participate? With the finest adjudication in the local debating scene and the promise of the tournament running on time, your teams can concentrate on doing their best. Bask in the company of other equally passionate debaters and pick up a nifty debating trick or two. We assure you an intellectually stimulating experience here in SP.


8am - Registration Opens
8.30am - Registration Closes, Debater/Adj Briefing Starts
9am - Round 1
11am - Round 2
12.30pm - Lunch
2pm - Round 3
4pm - Round 4
6pm - Break Announcements

8.30am - Roll Call
9am - Main Break Quarterfinals/ Sec Sch Semi Finals Motion Release
10am - Main Break Quarterfinals/ Sec Sch Semi Finals
11.30am - Lunch
12.30pm - Main Break Semifinal/ Sec Sch Grand Final Motion Release
1.30pm - Main Break Semifinal/ Sec Sch Grand Final
3pm - Main Break Grand Final Motion Release
4pm - Main Break Grand Final
5.30pm - End of Main Break Grand Finals
6.00pm - Start of Prize Presentation Ceremony
6.30pm - END

Tournament Cap: 48 institutional teams
Adj-per-institution: n-1

Registration Fee: $12

Enquiries? Drop us an email at or post your questions on our Facebook event page.

Register today at this link. We hope to see you this June!

Best Regards,

Organising Committee
Singapore Polytechnic Debate Open 2011


Singaporean debaters triumph at Bratislava Schools Debating Competition 2011

Anglo-Chinese Junior College (ACJC) sent two teams to take part in the international
Bratislava Schools Debating Competition (BSDC) 2011, held from 7-11 April 2011. The
competition, held in Bratislava, Slovakia, was conducted in the World Schools format.
Participants included debaters from the national teams of Slovakia and Romania, as well as teams from Germany, Turkey, Croatia, and Slovenia.

ACJC Team 2 was a semi-finalist while Team 1 triumphed over the National Debate Team of Slovakia in a 7-0 victory in the finals after a successive string of victories in the preliminary and breaking rounds of the competition. David Aw, Toh Ghee Wei, and Joshua Jesudason from ACJC Team 1 also took home the Top 3 Speaker prizes respectively.

The teams from ACJC comprised of the following debaters:

Team 1
Joshua Jesudason (Fairfield Methodist Secondary School

+ View all updates

Contact Info

Debate Association (Singapore)