• Your server has Suhosin loaded. Please follow this tutorial.
  • Koowa wasn't found. Please install the Koowa plugin and enable it.

Results for SRC-DA(S) International Humanitarian Law Debate Championships 2015

The Singapore Red Cross - Debate Association (Singapore) International Humanitarian Law Debate Championships is the only tournament of its kind in Singapore, bringing teams together to debate on matters concerning global peace, conflict resolution and international humanitarian obligations. This year’s edition was its largest yet, with nearly forty teams participating across both the Senior and Junior divisions. The Championship was kindly hosted by Anglo-Chinese Junior College and the Singapore Red Cross over the past two weeks.

By a unanimous 7 - 0 decision, Raffles Institution triumph over Victoria Junior College to emerge as the champions for the Senior Division. At the Junior Division, Hwa Chong Institution beat Raffles Institution by a 4 - 1 decision to clinch the championship. Congratulations to both teams!

Click "Continue Reading" for more results, including the individual speaker rankings    


Debate Association (Singapore) Executive Committee of 2015

Debate Association (Singapore) held its Annual General Meeting on 4 July 2015, where a new executive committee was elected into office. The new DA(S) Executive Committee for 2015-2017 is as follows:
President: Cherylyn Wee
Vice President: Benjamin Leong
Secretary: Jonathan Lee
Treasurer: Adrian Tan
Director (Competitions): Abigail Wong
Director (Competitions): Teo En Qi
Director (Competitions): Look Woon-Wei
Director (Training): Ang Meng Leng
Director (Training): Muhammad Farhansyah Bin Musa
The following were also appointed by the Executive Committee:
Director (Adjudicator Management): Eric Jude Tan
Director (Debate Development Initiative): Joshua Heng
Director (Debate Development Initiative) and Head Coach: Shawn Teo
Director (Outreach) & Director (Special Projects): Joshua Lo
Director (Special Projects): Lucas Li
We are very excited to continue bringing you tournaments, camps, and other events that enrich our local debating community. If there's any feedback for how we can do things better, we'd love to hear from you - please email to get in touch with us.

Results for Youth Debate Open 2015


Co-organised by Debate Association (Singapore) and the Jelutung Youth Executive Committee at Canberra Community Club, the annual Youth Debate Open (YDO) aims to bring secondary school students from a wide range of debating backgrounds together in a friendly competitive environment. This year's edition of the YDO was kindly hosted by Loyang Secondary School and Canberra CC, and was held on 20 June Saturday and 28 June Sunday.

This year, the Debate Development Initiative beat Loyang Secondary School on a 5 - 0 unanimous decision amongst the judge panel to emerge the Champion Gold Division Team for 2015. A composite team from Anglican High School and St. Andrew's Secondary School also beat Xinmin Secondary School Team A on a 4 - 1 split to emerge the Champion Silver Division Team. Congratulations to all winners and participants!

Click "Continue Reading" for more results, including the individual speaker rankings    


SRC-DA(S) IHL Debate Championship 2015 Registration Now Open

Conducted annually since 2005, the SRC-DA(S) IHL Debate Championship aims to foster an appreciation of pressing global issues such as Universal Human Rights and International Relations. It is also the only tournament on the debate circuit currently dedicated to such international themes.


Click "Continue Reading" for more detaiis and registration link  


Results of MOE-ACJC Intercollegiate Debating Championships

Now in its fifth year, the Ministry of Education-ACJC Intercollegiate Debating Championship (the national championship for pre-university institutions) was held at Anglo-Chinese Junior College on 5th - 6th June 2015. After several grueling elimination rounds, Dunman High School beat United World College (Southeast Asia) by a 4 - 1 split amongst the judge panel to emerge the Champion Team for 2015. The best speaker of the final was Chey Yew Hwei. Congratulations to Dunman High School!

Click "Continue Reading" for more results, including the individual speaker rankings  


2015 June Training Camp Registration Open!

Debate Association (Singapore) is pleased to open registration for our annual June Camp! The June Camp is open to both experienced debaters as well as students with no prior experience currently in upper primary school (Primary 4 to 6, or equivalent). It will take place on 23 & 24 June 2015.

Students can look forward to lectures by accomplished debaters on the fundamentals of debate as well as advanced techniques in building arguments and persuasion. They will also benefit from activity-based learning in smaller breakout groups (grouped by ability), and have a chance to meet like-minded student from other schools.

Applications will close on 12 June midnight. Spaces are limited so as to ensure a good facilitator-student ratio, so please do register quickly!

Registration can be done through this simple form at:

Click "Continue Reading" for more details

+ View all updates

Contact Info

Debate Association (Singapore)